Sample project
A real plan set, taken off and priced.
This is the electrical takeoff Portravo produced for a public, openly licensed house plan. Pick any line to see every symbol it counted, marked on the drawing. Then see what to check and what each line costs at a real store, with the date of every price.
- Sheets read
- 24 of 25
- Symbols counted
- 44
- Lines priced
- 7 of 10
- Estimate total
- $4,278.79
The plan set
American Farmhouse by Jay Osborne, a 25-sheet construction drawing set for a two-story house, published under CC BY-SA 3.0. It is not a customer's plan. Portravo rendered sheet images from the original PDF and drew evidence marks over them. The sample run read every sheet except A1.6 (second floor electrical). The sheet images and marks on this page are shared under the same license.
How each sheet was used (24 sheets read)
- A0.0Legend read · COVER PAGE
- A0.1Not electrical
- A0.2Not electrical
- A1.0Not electrical · SITE PLAN
- A1.1Not electrical · FOUNDATION PLAN
- A1.2Not electrical · 1ST FLOOR PLAN
- A1.3Not electrical · 2ND FLOOR PLAN
- A1.4Not electrical · ROOF PLAN
- A1.5Counted · 1ST RCP / ELEC. PLAN
- A1.7Not electrical · DETAIL PLANS
- A2.0Not electrical · SOUTH ELEVATION
- A2.1Not electrical · WEST ELEVATION
- A2.2Not electrical · NORTH ELEVATION
- A2.3Not electrical · EAST ELEVATION
- A2.4Not electrical · INTERIOR ELEVATIONS
- A2.5Not electrical · INTERIOR ELEVATIONS
- A3.0Not electrical · LONGITUDINAL SECTION
- A3.1Not electrical · TRANSVERSE SECTION
- A3.2Not electrical · TRANSVERSE SECTION
- A4.0Not electrical
- A4.1Not electrical · DECORATIVE DETAILS
- A4.2Not electrical · EAVE RETURN ELEVATION DETAIL
- A4.3Not electrical · DOORS & WINDOWS
- A5.0Not electrical · SCHEDULES
- A1.6Left out of this sample run
The legend it read
The set has no separate electrical legend. Its symbols sit in a general symbols legend on the cover sheet (A0.0), next to section markers and material hatches. Portravo read the electrical rows and matched each symbol on the plans to one of them.

- ELECTRIC OUTLETread as duplex receptacle
- SWITCHread as switch single pole
- CEILING LIGHTread as ceiling light
- RECESSED LIGHTread as recessed light
- WALL-HUNG LIGHTread as wall light
- CEILING FANread as ceiling fan
- SMOKE DETECTORread as smoke detector
Counts, with the evidence
Sheet A1.5, 1ST RCP / ELEC. PLAN. Every count is broken down by sheet, and every counted symbol is marked where it was found.
Pick a line to see each counted symbol on the sheet
Check these
Every takeoff comes with this list: what the readings disagreed on, what was not found, and what a price assumes.
Counts to confirm (8)
- Ceiling Light on A1.5: the symbol-shape search found 0 and the two model readings found 4; 4 counted. Look at the marks before you rely on it.
- Electric Outlet on A1.5: the symbol-shape search found 21 and the two model readings found 15; 15 counted. 6 counted symbols were read as another item by one source. Look at the marks before you rely on it.
- Gfci receptacle on A1.5: the symbol-shape search found 0 and the two model readings found 5; 5 counted. 5 counted symbols were read as another item by one source. Look at the marks before you rely on it.
- Smoke Detector on A1.5: the symbol-shape search found 0 and the two model readings found 2; 2 counted. Look at the marks before you rely on it.
- Special receptacle on A1.5: the symbol-shape search found 0 and the two model readings found 2; 2 counted. 1 counted symbol was read as another item by one source. Look at the marks before you rely on it.
- Switch on A1.5: the symbol-shape search found 1 and the two model readings found 7; 7 counted. Look at the marks before you rely on it.
- Switch three way on A1.5: the symbol-shape search found 0 and the two model readings found 1; 1 counted. Look at the marks before you rely on it.
- Wall-Hung Light on A1.5: the symbol-shape search found 3 and the two model readings found 4; 4 counted. Look at the marks before you rely on it.
Not found on this sheet (3)
- Grounding and bonding are context-only on residential sets; not taken off.
- Expected on sheet A1.5; nothing was counted. Confirm "Low voltage: data, TV, phone, doorbell, audio" is not on the plans.
- Expected on sheet A1.5; nothing was counted. Confirm "Panel, service equipment and dedicated circuits" is not on the plans.
Counted but not priced (3)
- Special receptacle is counted but not priced: No catalog assembly prices a special-purpose receptacle (240v/dedicated).
- Ceiling Fan is counted but not priced: No catalog assembly prices a ceiling fan.
- Smoke Detector is counted but not priced: No catalog assembly prices a smoke detector.
What a price assumes (8)
- Electric Outlet price: amperage 15A (from assembly name) is assumed from the catalog, not stated by the source.
- Electric Outlet price: tamper-resistant is assumed from the catalog, not stated by the plans.
- Gfci receptacle price: amperage 20A (from component "20A GFCI Receptacle, TR/WR") is assumed from the catalog, not stated by the source.
- Gfci receptacle price: tamper-resistant is assumed from the catalog, not stated by the plans.
- Gfci receptacle price: weather-resistant is assumed from the catalog, not stated by the plans.
- Switch price: amperage 15A (from component "Single-Pole Switch, 15A") is assumed from the catalog, not stated by the source.
- Recessed Light price: size 6" (from assembly name) is assumed from the catalog, not stated by the source.
- Switch three way price: amperage 15A (from component "3-Way Switch, 15A") is assumed from the catalog, not stated by the source.
The priced estimate
Example ZIP 90012 (Los Angeles, CA). Material prices are Home Depot listing prices at store #6689 (Cypress Park), observed Oct 3, 2026 to Oct 20, 2026. Labor uses the regional rate for each role, indexed to this market. Overhead 10% and margin 15% are the defaults; you set your own.
| Item | Qty | Unit price | Total | Store and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1-Gang Wall Plate · 4 lines | 28 ea | $0.95 | $26.60 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| 12/2 NM-B Romex w/ Ground, 250' Coil | 0.74 ea | $179.00 | $132.46 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| 14/2 NM-B Romex w/ Ground, 250' Coil · 5 lines | 3.96 ea | $124.00 | $491.04 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| 14/3 NM-B Romex w/ Ground, 250' Coil | 0.11 ea | $165.00 | $18.15 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 20, 2026 |
| 15A Duplex Receptacle, TR | 15 ea | $1.76 | $26.40 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| 20A GFCI Receptacle, TR/WR | 5 ea | $27.98 | $139.90 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| 3-Way Switch, 15A | 1 ea | $2.71 | $2.71 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| 6" LED Disc Light, Selectable CCT | 2 ea | $12.97 | $25.94 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| LED Flush Mount Ceiling Light | 4 ea | $24.97 | $99.88 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 20, 2026 |
| LED Wall Sconce | 4 ea | $46.78 | $187.12 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 20, 2026 |
| Old Work Round Ceiling Box · 2 lines | 8 ea | $3.98 | $31.84 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 20, 2026 |
| Single-Gang New-Work Box · 4 lines | 28 ea | $0.96 | $26.88 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| Single-Gang Old-Work Box | 2 ea | $2.37 | $4.74 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| Single-Pole Switch, 15A | 7 ea | $1.10 | $7.70 | Home Depot #6689 (Cypress Park), Oct 3, 2026 |
| Work | Hours | Rate | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apprentice Electrician: Ceiling Light Fixture, LED Flush Mount (rough + trim) | 1 | $51.75 | $51.75 |
| Apprentice Electrician: GFCI Receptacle (rough + trim) | 1 | $51.75 | $51.75 |
| Apprentice Electrician: Receptacle, 15A (rough + trim) | 3 | $51.75 | $155.25 |
| Apprentice Electrician: Switch, 3-Way (rough + trim) | 0.15 | $51.75 | $7.76 |
| Apprentice Electrician: Switch, Single-Pole (rough + trim) | 1.05 | $51.75 | $54.34 |
| Apprentice Electrician: Wall Sconce Light (rough + trim) | 1 | $51.75 | $51.75 |
| Journeyman Electrician: 6" LED Recessed Light (rough + trim) | 1.4 | $82.80 | $115.92 |
| Journeyman Electrician: Ceiling Light Fixture, LED Flush Mount (rough + trim) | 3 | $82.80 | $248.40 |
| Journeyman Electrician: GFCI Receptacle (rough + trim) | 3 | $82.80 | $248.40 |
| Journeyman Electrician: Receptacle, 15A (rough + trim) | 7.5 | $82.80 | $621.00 |
| Journeyman Electrician: Switch, 3-Way (rough + trim) | 0.55 | $82.80 | $45.54 |
| Journeyman Electrician: Switch, Single-Pole (rough + trim) | 3.15 | $82.80 | $260.82 |
| Journeyman Electrician: Wall Sconce Light (rough + trim) | 3 | $82.80 | $248.40 |
- Sample project. Electrical takeoff of sheet A1.5 only; sheet A1.6 was not part of this sample run.
- 3 counted lines without a catalog price (Special receptacle; Ceiling Fan; Smoke Detector); value unknown, not $0.
- 3 scope items not found or not counted on this sheet; see "Check these".
- Covers priced lines only. Not a complete building estimate. Each priced device carries its box, plate and a per-device wire allowance from its assembly; the panel, circuits and service are not priced unless a line above lists them.
- Material prices are Home Depot listing prices for ZIP 90012 (store #6689, Cypress Park) on the dates shown. Confirm with your supplier before you bid.
- Materials
- $1,221.36
- Labor
- $2,161.08
- Overhead 10%
- $338.24
- Margin 15%
- $558.11
- Estimate total
- $4,278.79
$75 per trade. Your first takeoff has a 14-day money-back guarantee. Terms
How this sample was made
The plan set went through the same electrical takeoff a customer's upload does, run Oct 20, 2026: 24 sheets read, 12 model readings of the electrical sheet (2 models, about $0.67 of model time), then the same publication and pricing steps a project uses. Every line was accepted as counted so the whole estimate could be priced; on your own project you confirm each line first. Electrical takeoffs are labelled assisted until they pass their accuracy gate.